Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Apr 19th, 2024, 3:39pm

Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login Register Register
Arimaa Forum « Turn-based games against bots and pausing them »

Arimaa Forum
   Arimaa
   Site Discussion
(Moderator: supersamu)
   Turn-based games against bots and pausing them
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Notify of replies Notify of replies Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Turn-based games against bots and pausing them  (Read 4142 times)
paperflowergirl
Forum Newbie

Arimaa player #9136

Turn-based games against bots and pausing them
« on: Nov 25th, 2013, 4:36pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

I'm very new to this game and like it a lot. Smiley  However, having recently lost several matches to a bot because time ran out, I am losing my enthusiasm...  The problem is not that I could not decide what to do in time, but rather that technical hang-ups (the send button did not respond) and people ringing my doorbell / calling my phone resulted in time being up and me losing the game.  It appears that I lost also when the bot did not make a move on time.  

This is extremely frustrating because it feels very unfair - I did not lose because my playing was inferior to that of the bot.  It is also frustrating that as a novice playing against a computer, I cannot take the time to really think about and understand the implications of my moves.  Strict time-limits for those trying to master the game encourages a habit of rash action rather than deep thinking.  As for the send button not responding, I imagine there is continuous development going on to iron out such wrinkles, and won't spend time complaining about something I'm sure you're already aware of.