Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Apr 19th, 2024, 8:53am

Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login Register Register
Arimaa Forum « Move 6 »

Arimaa Forum
   Team Games
   2009 One vs TheMob
(Moderators: supersamu, RonWeasley)
   Move 6
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1 2  Reply Reply Notify of replies Notify of replies Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Move 6  (Read 4079 times)
warren
Forum Guru

Arimaa player #2145

Move 6
« on: Feb 13th, 2009, 7:54am »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

5s hd6s dd8s dd7s hd5s
IP Logged
Simon
Forum Guru

Arimaa player #1198

Re: Move 6
« Reply #1 on: Feb 13th, 2009, 12:23pm »

Hi, I'm a newb here. I think it will help my understanding if I try to suggest something and get told (hopefully) why it is wrong, so I suggest:

6g Ec5s hd4e Ec4e Hf3w
IP Logged
Simon
Forum Guru

Arimaa player #1198

« Reply #2 on: Feb 13th, 2009, 12:25pm »

By the way, my lowish player number is because I signed up a while ago, but played only 3 games against low bots before leaving and haven't played since.
IP Logged
warren
Forum Guru

Arimaa player #2145

« Reply #3 on: Feb 13th, 2009, 5:53pm »

He has two major threats that I see: his EH is threatening our cat and his EM is threatening our horse if our E strays too far. I don't like how he has threats against both our traps while we have no real threats against his.

One possibility is, as Simon suggests,
   6g E->d4 h->e4 ????
but that seems at first glance to leave our position kind of cramped, with only our elephant doing much.

Another possibility is
   6g H->a5 r->a6 E->c4 ???? (perhaps C->b2)
but the rabbit pull doesn't seem threatening enough.

My current favorite is
  6g C->b3 M->c2 ???
where ??? is perhaps D->d2 or E->c4.
« Last Edit: Feb 13th, 2009, 6:00pm by warren » IP Logged
chessandgo
Forum Guru

Arimaa player #1889

« Reply #4 on: Feb 14th, 2009, 5:51am »