Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Mar 29th, 2024, 7:34am

Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login Register Register
Arimaa Forum « Untimed games with bots? »

Arimaa Forum
   Arimaa
   Site Discussion
(Moderator: supersamu)
   Untimed games with bots?
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Notify of replies Notify of replies Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Untimed games with bots?  (Read 924 times)
badhandle
Forum Newbie

Arimaa player #3903

Untimed games with bots?
« on: Feb 3rd, 2009, 11:22pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

I am very new to the game and would like to play bots untimed -- is this possible? I play during downtime at my lab while experiments are running so can be interrupted for a few minutes. I saw the Fotland download, but like the idea of playing against a variety of programs.
IP Logged
Fritzlein
Forum Guru

Arimaa player #706

Email

Re: Untimed games with bots?
« Reply #1 on: Feb 4th, 2009, 6:11am »

Currently, no, it is not possible to play untimed games against the bots.  The bots are all provided at standard time controls that everyone uses.  For the "Fast" and "Blitz" bots it could not be any other way, because the blunders that humans make under time pressure are part of the ratings of those bots.

For the P1 and P2 bots, the bot moves very quickly, but the time control is usually two minutes per move.  I highly recommend that you don't get caught up in moving quickly just because the bot moves quickly.  Frankly, there are very few players who are patient enough to actually think for two minutes on every move; almost everybody likes to move more quickly than that.  But if you take the full two minutes to think about the position it gives you a substantial advantage over the bot and over the people who don't think that long.