Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
May 16th, 2024, 11:15pm

Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login Register Register
Arimaa Forum « Looking for tips on strategy »

Arimaa Forum
   Arimaa
   General Discussion
(Moderator: supersamu)
   Looking for tips on strategy
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1 2  Reply Reply Notify of replies Notify of replies Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Looking for tips on strategy  (Read 3223 times)
Swynndla
Forum Guru

Arimaa player #1821

Looking for tips on strategy
« on: Mar 6th, 2006, 3:57am »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Hi I'm new to Arimaa, and even though I've had lots of problems playing online (shockwave on both linux pc's crashes all my different browsers, especially when I'm about to win Wink ... the only way I can play is to connected to a windows Citrix server that I don't admin, and play from there ... but in the mean time my rating kept going down to a low of 1024), I'm finding this game very addictive!  Smiley

Question: I'm now keen at looking for strategy tutorials (rather than ones on tactics) to read up on ... any advice besides what I've found?  I've found:
  • http://arimaa.com/arimaa/twiki/bin/view/Arimaa/ArimaaStrategy
  • http://arimaa.com/arimaa/twiki/bin/view/Arimaa/FritzleinVsOmar2005PostalChampionship

I found the second one extremely good, and Fritzlein's post-games thoughts even better.

I know I should learn tactics first, but that's (to me) boring  Wink ... I'm hoping the tactics will sort themselves out.
« Last Edit: Mar 6th, 2006, 3:58am by Swynndla » IP Logged
Ryan_Cable
Forum Guru

Arimaa player #951

Re: Looking for tips on strategy
« Reply #1 on: Mar 6th, 2006, 4:41am »

Wikipedia has several good articles on Arimaa:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Arimaa_tactics
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Arimaa_strategy

There is also a Wikibook, but it is not as polished and may be confusing if you are not already familiar with basic strategy: