Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
May 18th, 2024, 3:45pm

Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login Register Register
Arimaa Forum « Fairy Pieces »

Arimaa Forum
   Arimaa
   General Discussion
(Moderator: supersamu)
   Fairy Pieces
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1 2 3  Reply Reply Notify of replies Notify of replies Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Fairy Pieces  (Read 6194 times)
IdahoEv
Forum Guru

Arimaa player #1753

Fairy Pieces
« on: Apr 10th, 2006, 2:00pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

As an amateur game designer myself, it doesn't take long with any new game before my brain starts musing on the topic of "hey, I wonder what else we could do with this...?"

(Note that this is no way disrespectful of Omar's beautiful creation.  As someone who's designed several games, I can say that Arimaa is practically the holy grail:  it manages to be both fun and strategically deep in an extremely simple set of rules that can be learned in minutes.   And, it's an abstract strategy game - the hardest kind to design; flavor and story are crutches that nearly all game designers depend on.)

Anyhow, on an airplane this past weekend, I couldn't play, so instead my mind was mulling over Arimaa.  Practically the only thing that has ever nagged me about the design is the near invulnerability of the elephant; I feel like the strategic depth would increase if the elephant weren't so invincible.  So, tapping into a particular cultural legend about elephants, I came up with two possible fairy pieces for Arimaa:  

The Mouse:
    The mouse is an officer, moves like any other non-rabbit piece, and cannot score goals.   For purposes of pushing, pulling, and freezing, it is "smaller" than all  Arimaa pieces, including the rabbit ... except for the Elephant.  It is accounted larger than the elephant, and can freeze, push, or pull the elephant.  

The Rat: