Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
May 16th, 2024, 11:45pm

Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login Register Register
Arimaa Forum « Official Arimaa Theme »

Arimaa Forum
   Arimaa
   General Discussion
(Moderator: supersamu)
   Official Arimaa Theme
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1 2  Reply Reply Notify of replies Notify of replies Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Official Arimaa Theme  (Read 4907 times)
omar
Forum Guru

Arimaa player #2

Official Arimaa Theme
« on: Nov 10th, 2011, 10:21pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Even though Arimaa is not a game that needs a theme, I've decided to give it one now. The folks over on BGG seem to be fond of games that have a theme, so mostly this was to help please that crowd. I've been contemplating what a good theme would be for Arimaa for a few years now. Again and again I keep getting drawn to the theme of sumo wrestling. I think I've mentioned on the forum before that Arimaa feels to me like a wrestling match, while chess feels like a sword fight. But sumo wrestling is an individual sport, so to make it work for Arimaa I've made up a fantasy version where there are two teams of wrestlers. I've updated the Arimaa entry on BGG to reflect this.

http://www.boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/4616/arimaa

IP Logged
99of9
Forum Guru

Gnobby's creator (player #314)

toby_hudson  

Re: Official Arimaa Theme
« Reply #1 on: Nov 10th, 2011, 11:54pm »

Seriously?? My rating is about to plummet!

The description is now both misleading and confusing.  Even the opening sentence is false, nonsensical and ridiculous "Arimaa is an ancient, mythical sport played by teams of sumo wrestlers."

I can imagine a diligent board game enthusiast reading it and noting the fact that rabbits weigh 115 kg.  A straight reading gives that fact roughly the same importance as "c3, c6, f3 and f6 and are referred to as trap squares".