Sponsored by

Arimaa is part of the 2010 IAGO World Tour

The 2010 Arimaa Open Classic and World Championship

Jean Daligault of France is the Arimaa World Champion
Karl Juhnke of USA placed second
Greg Magne of Canada placed third

Event Coverage

Tournament Rules   View Games   Prize Fund  

Spectator Contest

Event: The 2010 Arimaa World Championship tournament will determine the best human Arimaa player. A contest will also be held for spectators during the final rounds of the tournament.

Prizes: The winner will receive an official Arimaa World Champion certificate. The top three players will receive gift prizes and a cash prize from the prize fund. All participants in the finals will also receive a cash prize for each game they win. See tournament rules for details. Spectators will also receive prizes for picking the right player and number of moves. See spectator contest rules for details.

Format: A Swiss preliminary (Open Classic) to select the top 8 players followed by a Floating Double Elimination final.

When: The tournament will begin on Tuesday January 5th, 2010 and run for 10 to 12 weeks. The participants will play one game per week.

Where: The games will be played over the Internet in the Arimaa gameroom.

Registration: Interested players should register before the deadline of 6PM EST Friday January 1st, 2010. The registration fee is $20 USD which is returned if you do not forfeit any of your games or drop out of the tournament.

Resigning: There is no penalty for resigning a game, however resigning is discouraged and completing a game to the end is highly encouraged.

Commemorative Gear: Commemorative World Championship T-shirts listing the names of all participants and match-ups will be available for purchase after the event.

Tournament Coordinator: Omar Syed

Tournament Director: Ned Bent

Event Reporter: Greg Magne


Copyright © 1999-present www.arimaa.com. All Rights Reserved. Contact author for permission.