Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Apr 29th, 2024, 3:58pm

Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login Register Register
Arimaa Forum « Evaluation MindMap »

Arimaa Forum
   Arimaa
   Bot Development
(Moderator: supersamu)
   Evaluation MindMap
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1 2  Reply Reply Notify of replies Notify of replies Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Evaluation MindMap  (Read 3872 times)
99of9
Forum Guru

Gnobby's creator (player #314)

toby_hudson  

Evaluation MindMap
« on: Apr 6th, 2006, 12:43am »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

This is my first attempt at mapping out my thoughts about Arimaa evaluation: http://members.westnet.com.au/doctorhudson/ArimaaEval.pdf

What do you think?  Anything more you think should be included.  Should it be organized differently?
« Last Edit: Apr 6th, 2006, 12:43am by 99of9 » IP Logged
Fritzlein
Forum Guru

Arimaa player #706

Email

Re: Evaluation MindMap
« Reply #1 on: Apr 6th, 2006, 7:43pm »

I'm afraid I'm not familiar with the concept of a mind map.  Would you care to explain, or is it one of those things where, if you have to explain, I'm not going to get it?
IP Logged

99of9
Forum Guru

toby_hudson  

« Reply #2 on: Apr 6th, 2006, 9:39pm »

Wikipedia says it better than I could:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mind_map

To use this type of graph for evaluation of a board position, I would need to eventually put formulas on every node.  Leaf nodes should have very simple formulas that can be obtained directly from the board (e.g. "enemy density in the 8 squares around my most advanced rabbit").  All other nodes would combine the values of their successors with a formula that could be as simple as adding them up, but in most cases is likely to be a non-linear equation describing how the interacting components contribute to the overall feature.