Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Apr 19th, 2024, 7:55pm

Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login Register Register
Arimaa Forum « For C++ developers: MCT »

Arimaa Forum
   Arimaa
   Bot Development
(Moderator: supersamu)
   For C++ developers: MCT
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Notify of replies Notify of replies Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: For C++ developers: MCT  (Read 3321 times)
doublep
Forum Guru

Badger author

For C++ developers: MCT
« on: Mar 21st, 2010, 2:31pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

I know that part of the purpose of Arimaa bot challenge is to develop new ideas in articial intelligence field.  I'm not good at theory, so I will hardly ever come up with a good idea/discovery.  As a substitute, I developed something practical instead: Miscellaneous Container Templates.

Those are very similar to STL TR1 (or Boost) unordered_(set|map) and to Google Sparsehash library.  However, they are faster, don't allocate memory (often) and don't restrict values in any way.

Each board object in Badger keeps a set of previously encountered position hashes, used to implement third repetition rule.  I noticed that unordered_set allocated a small amount of memory on each and every insertion, which slowed Badger down considerably, especially in multithreaded mode.  Apparently, memory allocation requires synchronization (to avoid heap corruption), so malloc() calls, being bad for performance as they are, make multithreaded program slower still.  I looked for an already written solution and found Google Sparsehash.  However, this was not good enough, because it required to single out and never use two values, which I couldn't do.  And even if I could (e.g. by sacrificing one bit out of Zobrist hashes), this just felt nasty and wrong.