Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Apr 26th, 2024, 6:54am

Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login Register Register
Arimaa Forum « ralphabetsoup vs. bot_Loc2007P2 »

Arimaa Forum
   Arimaa
   Game Analysis
(Moderator: supersamu)
   ralphabetsoup vs. bot_Loc2007P2
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Notify of replies Notify of replies Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: ralphabetsoup vs. bot_Loc2007P2  (Read 894 times)
ralphabetsoup
Forum Newbie

Arimaa player #7412

ralphabetsoup vs. bot_Loc2007P2
« on: Feb 20th, 2012, 8:21pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

I'm a beginner and I know I'm making a ton of mistakes, but honestly not sure where.

Part of the problem is that at this point even my wins feel random.  I've read the wikibook, and understand the basic strategies in the abstract, but not really in practice.

In this game, I know that I've botched the end game, but I have the feeling that it got away from me long before then.

What am I doing wrong?

http://arimaa.com/arimaa/gameroom/opengamewin.cgi?client=1&gameid=21 6566&role=v&side=w
IP Logged
ginrunner
Forum Guru

Arimaa player #5449

Re: ralphabetsoup vs. bot_Loc2007P2
« Reply #1 on: Feb 21st, 2012, 12:10am »

instead of critiquing specific moves I will try and give you some basic pointers. In order of what I noticed might be a weakness.

1) Don't attack with a single piece. You had a habit of trying to attack on a single wing with a single piece. When forming an attack try and use multiple pieces. For example the EH attack involves 2 pieces and is a basic building block of today's strategy.