Sponsored by

Video of Final Game

The 2009 Arimaa Open Classic and World Championship

Jean Daligault of France is the Arimaa World Champion
Karl Juhnke of USA placed second
Greg Magne of Canada placed third

View Final Games
View Open Classic Games

Event Coverage

Tournament Rules
Registered Players

Spectator Contest

Event: The 2009 Arimaa World Championship tournament will determine the best human Arimaa player. A contest will also be held for spectators during the final rounds of the tournament.

Prizes: The winning player will receive an official Arimaa World Champion certificate along with cash and gift prizes. All participants will also receive a cash prize for each game they win. See tournament rules for details. Spectators will also receive prizes for picking the right player. See contest rules for details.

Format: A Swiss preliminary (Open Classic) to select the top 8 players followed by a Floating Double Elimination final. This is the same format as used in the 2008 World Championship.

When: The tournament will begin on Tuesday January 6th, 2009 and run for 10 to 12 weeks. The participants will play one game per week.

Where: The games will be played over the Internet in the Arimaa gameroom.

Registration: Interested players should register before the deadline of 6PM EST Friday January 2nd, 2009. The registration fee is $20 USD of which $10 USD is returned if you do not forfit or resign any of your games. The rest is used for the prize fund. Commemorative World Championship T-shirts listing the names of all participants and match-ups will be available after the event for $20 USD.

Tournament Coordinator: Omar Syed

Tournament Director: Ned Bent

Event Reporter: Greg Magne, Karl Juhnke Brian Haskin and Omar Syed

Arimaa is part of the 2009 IAGO World Tour


Copyright © 1999-present www.arimaa.com. All Rights Reserved. Contact author for permission.